Love in the Time of Corona: Solidarity Session

LOVE IN THE TIME OF CORONA: SOUL FOOD + SOLIDARITY
SATURDAY JUNE 27, 8:00PM EDT | 5:00PM PDT

Ever wonder what the difference is between Southern and Soul Food? How certain dishes ended up as standard summer BBQ fare? How Black and Native Americans have shaped U.S. cooking?

Author Adrian Miller can tell you all about it. He’s our featured guest at the final Love in the Time of Corona Virtual Dance Party of the season, “Soul Food + Solidarity.”

Dancemaker Parijat Desai begins by playing a range of Black and desi musics—some topical, some danceable. Then we offer a moment of collective silence followed by a conversation with 2 special guests:

Soul Food historian and former lawyer/policy expert Adrian Miller talks about his rich research, his new book Black Smoke, and his thoughts about the watershed moment we’re living.
We’ll also be joined by political organizer Sahana Mehta, just out of college and plugged in. She’ll share about South Asian American activism, desi/Black solidarity. and ways we all can get involved.

SOLIDARITY SESSION IN 2 PARTS
PART 1: LISTEN/MOVE
PART 2: CONVO [starts ~8:45PM Eastern | ~5:45PM Pacific]

Event is donation-based | Part of proceeds go to ActBlue Bail Funds (secure.actblue.com/donate/bailfunds)

Info + registration: www.gofundme.com/parijata-dance-company-online
Past Playlists: www.facebook.com/notes/parijata-dance-company/playlists-for-love-in-the-time-of-corona-parties/10157935050506224

This event is produced with the help of Cpr Cpr – Center for Performance Research. Parijat and Parijata Dance thanks Remi Harris of CPR for helping produce this event, and Emily Nahmanson and Trinity Dawn Bobo for their amazing technical support.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *