Artist-in-Residence Program CPR’s Artist-in-Residence (AiR) program seeks to support a wide range of artists from emerging choreographers to established companies, working within the various […]

Artist-in-Residence Program

CPR’s Artist-in-Residence (AiR) program seeks to support a wide range of artists from emerging choreographers to established companies, working within the various aspects of dance and performance. Since its inception in 2012, with the generous support of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, CPR’s AiR Program has provided up to 15 artists per year (selected by invitation) with 100 hours of deeply subsidized rehearsal hours at advanced booking.

Starting in 2020, CPR’s AiR Program will provide 10 artists with an increase of deeply subsidized rehearsal hours (150) with advanced booking privileges and a $1,000 stipend. Artists will have opportunities to share their current practice with the larger CPR and NYC dance communities, have several informal opportunities for community engagement, and recieve complimentary time in the large studio to share their practice with other AiRs. In an effort to create a more inclusive and equitable selection process, we are piloting an open call application by a peer artist committee this year. The committee will review applications, and through a scoring and discussion process, select CPR’s AiRs for 2020. Using this approach, CPR aspires to increase visibility, opportunities, and resources for a diverse range of dance artists in the field. The 202 AiR application and full description can be found here.

CPR’s AiR Program is supported by Dance/NYC’s New York City Rehearsal Space Subsidy Program, an initiative made possible by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Additional funding generously provided by the Howard Gilman Foundation, Mertz Gilmore Foundation, and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs.

‘WAGE’ by CPR 2018 Artist-in-Residence Kyle Marshall.  Performed by Dare Ayonride, Miriam Gabriel, Myssi Robinson. Images by Kathryn Butler.


Ivy Baldwin | Deborah Conton | Leslie Cuyjet | Mee Jung | Jordan Demetrius Lloyd | Jess PrettyKatie Workum |


Abigail Levine | Alexis Zaccarello | Gwen Welliver | Katie Workum | Kim Brandt | Kyle Marshall | Julie Mayo | Melinda Ring | Moriah Evans | Rashaun Mitchell + Silas Reiner | Sidra Bell | Tess Dworman


Lauren Bakst | Marcus Duran | Moriah Evans | Beth Gill | Meredith Glisson | Kaneza Schaal | Abigail LevineThe Median Movement | Antonio RamosAnna Sperber | Tatyana Tenenbaum | Gwen Welliver


Lauren Bakst | Kimberly Bartosik | Sidra BellKim BrandtMarcos Duran | Beth Gill | The Median MovementElisabeth MotleyJillian Peña | Anna SperberMariana ValenciaEmily Wexler

Sidra BellKim Brandt (through Issue Project Room) | Tess Dworman | Moriah Evans | Meredith GlissonElisabeth MotleyAntonio RamosMariana Valencia (through Issue Project Room) | Gillian Walsh (through Issue Project Room) | Emily WexlerAlexis Zaccarello

Vanessa AnspaughKimberly BartosikMarcos Duran | Levi Gonzalez | Anya Liftig & Tess DwormanJillian PeñaAntonio RamosKensaku ShinoharaMariana ValenciaMei YamanakaAlexis Zaccarello

Vanessa AnspaughKimberly BartosikSidra BellMarcos DuranCarlye EckertRashaun MitchellMichelle MolaElisabeth MotleyAynsley Vandenbroucke | Gwen Welliver

Sidra BellCarlye EckertThe Limon CompanyJohn JasperseClarinda MacLowRashaun MitchellElisabeth Motley | Gwen Welliver

Technical Residency

CPR’s Technical Residency focuses on experimentation and collaboration during mid- and late-stages of development. The weeklong residency includes daily use of the large studio/theater, access to CPR’s technical resources, and technical support provided by CPR’s resident Technical Director, with the option to present at the culmination of the residency in CPR’s theater. Artists are invited to apply.

With generous support from the National Endowment for the Arts, CPR’s third Technical Residency was held in October 2017, with selected artist Tatyana Tenenbaum. The Median Movement, comprised of choreographers Xan Burley and Alex Springer, were selected as CPR’s inaugural Technical Residents in May 2016, followed by Kaneza Schaal in May 2017. In 2018, CPR proudly welcomed Sacha Yanow in the Spring and Parijat Desai in the Fall as its Technical Residents. Generous support for CPR’s Technical Residency has also been provided by the Howard Gilman Foundation, Department of Cultural Affairs, and New York State Council on the Arts.

The Median Movement. Technical Residency, 2016. Photo: Thomas Rivera Montes.

The Median Movement. Technical Residency, 2016. Images by Thomas Rivera Montes.